Poetry and the back of the bus.

This afternoon the school held a poetry afternoon for all the pupils who are gifted and talented at English. A poet named Peter Cann came, he taught us how to write preformance poetry, slightly insulting poems about people we know and short poems that we wrote in one minute. My best one was the slightly insulting poems  about people  we know. I did Henry. I certainly excersized my poetic licence, Henry can be quite a cry baby, but I did slightly exagerate… Like he the police don’t actually strap him to the top of their car to use him as a siren, and we don’t lend him to farmers to water their crops!

My preformance poem was quite good as well, we had to write each sentence like it was telling people not to do things that annoyed us. We wrote one big one as a class and then loads of little ones. My last line was:

Don’t do any of these things or you will make me very VERY VERY   ANGRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I raise my voice gradually whilst saying the very part, so my ANGRY!!!!!!!!!!! is very loud. Peter Cann said it was a true peice of preformance art.

I wasn’t very good at the last one though, there aren’t many sights, sounds and smells that remind me of home. I just wrote about cows sheep and car engines for the sights and sounds, but the smells completely threw me, my house doesn’t smell of anything much.

I got to sit at the very back of the bus today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There were NO seats left, and the year sixes and sevens were just  pointing to spaces next to boys I don’t like, then a year eight moved her stuff and said I could sit at the back! The back is cool. I could survey the heads of everyone on the bus, look out the back window and say hi to all the ageist Year Sevens who think that Year Sixes should stay at the front. I never realised how high up it was, (the back seats are on a raised platform) I can understand why the Year Eights like sitting there, if your going to hog an area of seats you might as well have an interesting view. I barely read my book at all, I was busy savouring the journey I might not get to sit there again for another two years!

Bye Bye Now!

Leave a Reply

